how many tones does mandarin have

1 decade ago. Differences between tones in Cantonese are subtle, not nearly as extreme as the tones in Mandarin. Tones. (2) the Mandarin Chinese Neutral Tone does not have a fixed Tone. Asks. Mandarin does not have many syllables: the words for "mother," "hemp," "horse," "scold," and a word put at the end of sentences to make it a question are all pronounced "ma:" "Mother" is "ma" that is high and level. Favorite Answer. Now, for a complete beginner, this is a fair question, but for anyone else, the answer should be obvious: Yes, you have to learn the tones. See how to say each sound in Mandarin with our FREE Video-based Pinyin Chart. Read here about Pinyin: the alphabet of Chinese language Initials in Chinese. (wikipedia) During my first lesson, a few of us had a discussion about the number of Cantonese tones we’d have to learn. Mandarin Chinese, with its four tones, can be difficult for non-native speakers to comprehend. No buts, no excuses or nuances. Mandarin is the only language that does it to a large extent because it has lost so many tones. Voiced initials are used in Shanghainese, but not in Mandarin. Learn Chinese:General Chinese question: Why does mandarin (and other tonal languages) have tones? So when you learn "elephant 象" you should put it into the 去 Column as a Low Class. Memorize simple vocabulary. The tones of Mandarin Chinese are undoubtedly a challenge, but they can be learned with the proper approach. That said, these limited combinations are not enough for thousands of characters, because many characters have to share the same pronunciation. Swedish does have tones, but it is not a tonal language. In Mandarin Chinese, there are four basic tones and a fifth neutral tone. For example, if you say tāng with a high tone it means ‘soup’, but táng with a rising tone means ‘sugar’. But for the general rule of thumb, this is the table you memorize and keep with you forever. Another challenge with Chinese tones is that